Canine Unit (K-9)


The Medicine Hat Police Service Canine (K9) Unit has been in operation since 1980 when it started with two police service dogs (PSD). The Unit expanded in 1985 to include 4 dogs and 4 handlers to allow for 24 hours per day, 7 days a week street coverage. 


The K9 team's primary purpose is to attend scenes of crimes that are in progress or that have just occurred, for example break and enters, theft from autos, assaults and robberies.  The ability of the PSD makes them ideal partners in many areas. The training of the dogs allows them to follow human scent and gives them the ability to track and locate suspects. The dogs are used to search and clear buildings where alarms have been received and it is suspected someone has illegally entered. The dogs can also locate evidence, which may be related to a crime. All of the dogs are cross-trained in the locating of narcotics. 

Dog handlers work only one dog and are responsible for them at all times. Dogs remain in the unit as long as they are able to perform the duties required of them. Once the dogs reach an age that they are no longer able to work, they are retired to their handler.





View Current Police Service Dogs here








Previous Medicine Hat Police Service Dogs Teams include:

1980-1987   PSD Bandit / Cst. Lou O'Reilly
1980-1986   PSD Smokey / Cst. Rob Siegmund
1984-1990   PSD Tracer / Cst. Andy McGrogan
1985-1991   PSD Ruger / Cst. Dave Brandrith
1986-1991   PSD Khan / Cst. Tim Petro
1987-1993   PSD Thor / Cst. Murray Morton
1988-1995   PSD Delta / Cst. Dave Crawford
1989-1996   PSD Behr / Cst. Mark Morin
1992-1997   PSD Jake / Cst. Dave Townsend
1993-1999   PSD Basco / Cst. Brian Christmann
1995-2001   PSD Teo / Cst. Tim Schottner
1996-2001   PSD Eros / Cst. Darcy Fox
1997-2005   PSD Nero / Cst. Gord Stull
1999-2003   PSD Sabre / Cst. Randy Teel
2001-2003   PSD Athos / Cst. Darcy Fox
2001-2007   PSD Rocky / Cst. Darcy Brandt
2003-2009   PSD Brix / Cst. Roger Page
2004-2007   PSD Zipo / Cst. Jason Ross
2004-2009   PSD Boris / Cst. Shawn Davis
2007-2014   PSD Reno / Cst. Jason Dola
2007-2011   PSD Rex / Cst. Jason Ross
2009-2015   PSD Duco / Cst. Clarke White
2011-2013   PSD Kato / Cst. Chris Schlenker
2011-2013   PSD Expo / Cst. Marc Seiller
2013-2016   PSD Larry / Cst. Chris Schlenker
2013-2017   PSD Elvis / Cst. Matt Sanders
2014-2017   PSD Finn / Cst. Marc Seiller
2016-2019   PSD Flint / Cst. Joel Pullman
2017-2024   PSD Astor / Cst. Jason Ross
2019-2021   PSD Flint / Cst. Jason Dola
2020-2023   PSD Hutch / Cst. Roger Page
2023-active  PSD Bronx / Cst. Garreth MacPherson